Ogeechee Technical College Ogeechee Technical College
Future Students Current Students Faculty and Staff Community Ogeechee Technical College
Ogeechee Technical College
Ogeechee Technical College Ogeechee Technical College
Return to Homepage

About OTC
Continuing Education
Continuing Education
Economic Development
Student Services
Site Index

Sylvania's Timken is Nominee for Manufacturer of the Year

A group of Ogeechee Technical College staff traveled to Atlanta Thursday, April 12th for the Manufacturers of the Year Governor’s Awards Luncheon.  Accompanying the OTC staff were members of Timken Corporation’s Sylvania plant, along with Screven County Development Authority Executive Director Gayle Boykin.  Timken attendees included plant manager John Kain, Human Resources Director Illene Stafford, Industrial Engineer Garrick Ward, and Product Line Manager David Burke.

Timken was recognized at the event as OTC’s nominee for 2007.  Approximately one thousand people attended the event which was held at the Cobb Galleria.  Governor Sonny Perdue was the keynote speaker and expressed his support for the manufacturing sector in Georgia.  The Governor stressed the importance of maintaining a strong base of manufacturing companies to keep the economy of Georgia strong.

Manufacturers of the Year Governor’s Awards Luncheon
Timken Plant Manager John Kain, OTC President Dr. Dawn Cartee, and
OTC Vice President of Economic Development Dr. Ben Thompson
at the Manufacturers Awards Luncheon in Atlanta.

OTC Vice President of Economic Development, Dr. Ben Thompson, expressed his delight in the recognition that Timken received.  “It was great to see one of our local industries recognized alongside all the other nominees in the state,” Dr. Thompson stated.  “Our training initiatives at OTC are dependent upon a need for a strong workforce, and manufacturers provide that need,” Dr. Thompson further said.

Ron Jackson, Interim Commissioner of the Department of Technical and Adult Education and Ken Stewart, Commissioner of the Georgia Department of Economic Development were also featured speakers at the event.  Both expressed their appreciation to the nominees and the nominating technical colleges.  Commenting on the nomination process, Dr. Dawn Cartee, OTC President stated, “There is an extensive process in nominating an industry for this award.”  “The quality of Timken and the staff there made that plant a logical choice for nomination,” she further stated.  “Every employee of Timken should be proud of the acknowledgement they received as this year’s nominee from the OTC service area,” Dr. Cartee concluded.

Contact: Barry Turner
Executive Director of Public Relations
Phone: (912) 688-6958
Email: bturner@ogeecheetech.edu

©2006-2010 Ogeechee Technical College - One Joe Kennedy Blvd., Statesboro, GA 30458 USA
Phone: (800) 646-1316 | E-mail: info@ogeecheetech.edu

As set forth in its student catalog, Ogeechee Technical College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, national or ethnic origin, gender, religion, disability, age, political affiliation or belief, veteran status, or citizenship status (except in those special circumstances permitted or mandated by law). The following individuals have been designated to coordinate the College’s implementation of nondiscrimination policies: Kelli Waters, Title IX Coordinator, Office 143H, JEK Building, 912.871.1885 and Penny Hendrix, ADA/Section 504 Coordinator, Office 171E, JEK Building, 912.486.7211.

Ogeechee Technical College